Contact Us

100 N 5th St
Leavenworth, KS 66048
Get Directions
  • Phone: 
    (913) 680-2626
  • Staff Directory
  • Department Hours:
    M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

In This Department

  • About This Board
  • Agendas & Minutes
  • Upcoming Meetings
  • Documents & Reports
  • News & Notices

Leavenworth Preservation Commission



7 members - 3 year terms, appointed by the Mayor with concurrence by the City Commission

Board Members:  Ken Bower, Richard Jackson, John Karrasch, Kathy Kem, Ed Otto, Debi Denney, Sherry Hines Whitson and Diane Sodders. 




First Wednesday of each month, 6:00 PM, "As Needed"




The Leavenworth Preservation Commission membership includes at least one architect, one real estate professional, one planning commissioner, and one historian as well as members at large. The Board inventories, promotes, preserves and enhances places, area, features or sites within the City that have special significance of an architectural, archaeological, cultural or historical sense.  The Board advises the City Commission and cooperates with other historic agencies and organizations concerning preservation of the city's historic and cultural heritage.

Staff Contact:  City Planner Julie Hurley

                       Planning and Zoning Department, 913-680-2626

Upcoming Meetings